Tuesday, May 31, 2016
  • Choose Canadian

    Since 1958, the CGA has provided a top-tier Canadian source for gemmological training and a medium for interaction between gemmologists in Canada. Learn more about our mandate ...

    Photo: Natural Canadian diamond from the Ekati Mine
    Design-copyrighted Snowflake cut by: Wobito Gems Ltd.
    Photo credit: championphoto.com
    Read More
  • Embrace Excellence

    Choose the best people for the job!

    Fellows of the Canadian Gemmological Association (FCGmA) are qualified gemmologists who have completed a rigorous set of standardized examinations demonstrating mastery of gemmological theory and hands-on practical gem identification skills.

    Read More
  • Indulge Your Passion

    The CGA is your top choice for premium gemmological education at all levels, delivered by dedicated instructors focused on the success of each student. Get an overview of our programs ...

    Photo credit: championphoto.com


    Read More
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3

Gemmology Courses

  • Education Overview +

    Master fundamentals of gemmology or fine tune your skills to advance your career.

    Read More
  • Professional Gemmology Program +

    The CGA's professional gemmology training is available in several formats ...

    Read More
  • General Interest +

    Courses for those who want to learn more about gems without undertaking professional training. 

    Read More
  • Advanced Courses +

    Keep your gemmological expertise up to date.

    Read More
  • Fellowship +

    Diamond and ruby rings. Artwork by: Collins & Chandler Gallery, Photo: championphoto.com

    Overview

    Fellows of the Canadian Gemmological Association are
    Read More
  • 1

Professional Courses

Gemmology Accelerated Program
     Feb 8 - May 26, 2016
     Sept 6 - Dec 22, 2016

Jewellery Associate-Gemmology Specialist
     Sept 22, 2015 - May 17, 2016

Gemmology Program

     Sept 21, 2015 - May 19, 2016

Advanced Topics

Diamond Grading
    July 4 - 8, 2016

Fundamentals of Jewellery Appraising
    July 11 - 15, 2016

Coloured Stone Grading and Valuation
     July 22 - 24, 2016

Pre-Exam Lab
     June 6 - 10, 2016

General Interest

Diamonds and Diamond Imitations (NEW)
     
Tues Aug 23 and Wed Aug 24, 2016
Gem Appreciation
    
Sat June 18, 2016
     Thurs Aug 11, 2016
     Sat Sept 24, 2016
     Sat Nov 5, 2016

Intro to Gem ID
     Sat June 4 and Sun June 5, 2016

     Sat Aug 20 and Sun Aug 21, 2016
     Sat Nov 26 and Sun Nov 27, 2016

Talking Diamonds
     Sat May 28, 2016
     Wed Aug 10, 2016
     Sat Oct 22, 2016
     Sat Dec 10, 2016

Testimonials

... one of the highlights of my educational pursuits and gemmological adventures.
Read more

Verify Credentials

Fellows of the Canadian Gemmological Association are qualified gemmologists who renew their credentials annually. Use the Search for Members function on our About/Membership page to determine the current status of members.

Fellowship Exam Dates

June 2016 Session

  • Preliminary level: Mon June 13
  • Professional level 
    • theory: Tues June 14
    • practical: Wed June 15

* Please note that these exam dates are one week earlier than previously posted.

Read more ...
Download the Exam Registration Form from the Education/Course Forms page.

Pre-Exam Lab

Check out the Education/Advanced Courses page to learn more about how to prepare for professional exams!

CGA at the Shows


Wondering what those gems are that you've had tucked in the back of the drawer for ages? Visit our booth at an Ontario Gem & Mineral show to find out!
Outreach & Shows - read more ...

Open House Dates

Andamooka opal pic
Want to know more? Drop by the classroom at 55 Queen St East, meet our instructors and learn more about our courses and gemmology in general or please phone to make an appointment.

Next Open House

  • Wed May 25, 2016  5:30 pm to 7:00 pm
  • Tues August 23, 2016  5:30 pm to 7:00 pm

The CGA offers sincere thanks to the following donors for their support:




 




 DIAMOND-level sponsor



AGA






gia-logo


vcc-logo-2crop